Shadow of the Holy Book

Arto Halonen, Finland, 2007

90 min.Documentary

The film investigates the morality of international companies and the dictatorship of oil and-gas-rich Turkmenistan. These companies help give the dictatorship the propaganda support that it needs to survive. Turkmenistan's dictator, Saparmurat Niyazov, has written a ludicrous book: the Ruhnama, the Book of the Soul, a key tool in the government's subjugation of human rights and free speech. Yet many international companies give their clandestine support to the Ruhnama and help suppress the country's voices of opposition and dissidence - in return for multimillion-dollar business deals.
Basic information Credits Festivals & awards
Original title Shadow of the Holy Book
Danish title Shadow of the Holy Book
Director Arto Halonen
Screenplay Arto Halonen, Kevin Frazier
Producer Arto Halonen
Director of Photography Hannu Vitikainen, Arto Halonen
Editor Samu Heikkilä
Sound Martti Turunen, Samu Heikkilä
Composer Timo Peltola
Appearance Arto Halonen, Kevin Frazier, Ruslan Tuhbatullin, Farid Tuhbatullin
Production country Finland, Denmark, Switzerland, Germany
Production company Art Films production AFP Ltd
International sales
Technical info color
Download PDF


Production company Art Films production AFP Ltd
Co-production Dschoint Ventschr Filmproduktion AG, Kamoli Films
With support from Finnish Film Foundation, AVEK, The Promotion Centre for Audiovisual Culture in Finland, Nordisk Film & TV Fond, Ministry for Foreign Affairs of Finland, MEDIA (EU)
In collaboration with ITVS, YLE TV2 Documentaries, TV2 Danmark, Schweizer Fernsehen, Télévision Suisse Romande, Radiotelevisione Svizzera di lingua italiana, Mitteldeutscher Rundfunk


Direction Arto Halonen


Screenplay Arto Halonen
Screenplay Kevin Frazier
Research Maiju Lanamäki
Research Riina Kullas
Research Matleena Frisk
Research Kaius Niemi
Research Gustaf Holm


Producer Arto Halonen
Co-producer Helle Ulsteen
Co-producer Werner Swiss Schweizer
Executive producer Sally Jo Fifer
Production coordinator Hanna Aartolahti


Director of Photography Hannu Vitikainen
Director of Photography Arto Halonen
2nd cinematographer Salla Sorri
2nd cinematographer Juha Kiviharju


Editor Samu Heikkilä
Editing supervisor Erez Laufer


Composer Timo Peltola


Sound designer Martti Turunen
Sound designer Samu Heikkilä
Recording engineer Salla Sorri
Recording engineer Juha Kiviharju


Appearance Arto Halonen
Appearance Kevin Frazier
Appearance Ruslan Tuhbatullin
Appearance Farid Tuhbatullin
Appearance Boris Shikmuradov Junior

Download PDF
Det Danske Filminstitut registrerer international festivaldeltagelse og priser til danske film, dog primært de titler, som Filminstituttet varetager i sin festivaldistribution, og primært i forbindelse med de festivaler, som Filminstituttet har prioriteret at samarbejde med. Registreringen af festivaldeltagelse og priser til danske film, der ikke er i festivaldistribution, foretages kun for "launch"-festivaler ifølge Filminstituttets prioriterede festivalliste. Se listen over prioriterede festivaler.
Download PDF