Char... The No-Man's Island

Sourav Sarangi, India, 2012

97 min.Documentary

Meet Rubel, a fourteen year old boy smuggling rice from India to Bangladesh. He has to cross the river Ganga acting as the international border. The same river eroded his home in mainland India when he was just four. Years later a fragile island called Char was formed within the large river. Rubel, with his family and many homeless people decided to settle in this barren field controlled by the border police. He dreams of going to his old school in India but reality forces him to smuggle stuff to Bangladesh. After a scorching summer dark monsoon clouds roll on and the river swells up again. Char may disappear but we won't, smiles the boy.
Basic information Credits Festivals & awards
Original title Char... The No-Man's Island
Danish title Char... The No-Man's Island
Director Sourav Sarangi
Screenplay Sourav Sarangi
Producer Sourav Sarangi
Director of Photography Sourav Sarangi, Rabindranath Das, Minarul Mondal
Editor Sourav Sarangi
Sound Sourav Sarangi, Kyohei Taguchi
Production country India, Japan, Italy, Denmark, Norway
Production company Son et Lumiere
International sales
Download PDF


Production company Son et Lumiere
Co-production Stefilm International, Final Cut for Real ApS, Cinema Oslo
In collaboration with NHK, RAI (Radiotelevisione Italiana)


Direction Sourav Sarangi


Screenplay Sourav Sarangi
Expert Kalyan Rudra


Producer Sourav Sarangi
Co-producer Stefano Tealdi
Co-producer Signe Byrge Sørensen
Co-producer Jon Jerstad
Associate producer Isabel Arrate
Associate producer Melanie de Vocht
Associate producer Ryota Kotani
Associate producer Hendel Lorenzo
Production manager Minarul Mondal
Technical support Ganesh Pandey
Technical support Sanat Paul
Consultant Nilanjan Bhattacharya
Location assistant Sangeeta Dutta


Cinematographer Sourav Sarangi
Cinematographer Rabindranath Das
Cinematographer Minarul Mondal
Cinematographer: Additional shoot Ajoy Noronha


Editor Sourav Sarangi
Assistant editor Koushik Chakraborty
Assistant editor Joydeb Naskar
Assistant editor Smritishekhar Mondal
Pilot editor Estephan Wagner
Pilot consultant Janus Billeskov Jansen


Recording engineer Minarul Mondal
Recording engineer Sumanta Samanta
Sound designer Sourav Sarangi
Sound designer Kyohei Taguchi
Sound mixer Abdul Rajjak
Sound mixer Shinichiro Ogata
Assistant sound mixer Kenji Nakano

Visual effects

Colourist Takehiro Akiba


Animation Suhrid Chandra
Animation Smritishekhar Mondal

Download PDF
Det Danske Filminstitut registrerer international festivaldeltagelse og priser til danske film, dog primært de titler, som Filminstituttet varetager i sin festivaldistribution, og primært i forbindelse med de festivaler, som Filminstituttet har prioriteret at samarbejde med. Registreringen af festivaldeltagelse og priser til danske film, der ikke er i festivaldistribution, foretages kun for "launch"-festivaler ifølge Filminstituttets prioriterede festivalliste. Se listen over prioriterede festivaler.
Download PDF