Out of the Darkness

Anders Refn, Denmark, 2022

152 min.DK/Feature

OUT OF THE DARKNESS is a strong dramatic sequel to Into the Darkness. The film follows the Skov family from the spring of 1943 to the summer of 1945, when Denmark becomes free again.
The Skov family is divided. Aksel, who joined the Resistance Movement, has gone underground and evolves from idealistic amateur to hardcore partisan. Karl is fighting for his life's work on harder and harder conditions, and when the coalition government collapses, he is suddenly without political support and must do everything he can to secure a future for the family - also on the other side of the war. This puts the relationship with Eva under pressure. She has always had difficulty with her husband's cooperation with the occupying forces.
The growing opposition to the occupation and the increased brutality of the Germans have fatal consequences for the family…
Basic information Credits Festivals & awards
Original title De Forbandede År 2
Danish title De Forbandede År 2
Director Anders Refn
Screenplay Anders Refn, Flemming Quist Møller
Producer Lene Børglum
Director of Photography Morten Søborg
Sound Morten Bak Jensen
Production designer Søren Gam
Casting Stine Brüel
Appearance Bodil Jørgensen, Jesper Christensen, Mads Reuther, Gustav Dyekjær Giese
Production country Denmark
Danish audio description Yes
Production company Space Rocket Nation ApS
Domestic distribution Scanbox Entertainment Danmark A/S
International sales
Danish theatrical release 21.04.2022
Danish rating Allowed for children over the age of 15
Download PDF


Production company Space Rocket Nation ApS
Domestic distribution Scanbox Entertainment Danmark A/S


Direction Anders Refn
1st assistant director Christian "Krølle" Pedersen
2nd assistant director Mathias Dalsgaard Hald
Continuity Lulu Refn
Casting Stine Brüel
Extras coordinator Andrea Vergara


Screenplay Anders Refn
Screenplay Flemming Quist Møller


Producer Lene Børglum
Line producer Sune Wahl
Production coordinator Josephine Kildal
Production assistant Jonas Krogh Søndergård
Production assistant Marcel Mate
Post Producer Jacob Clemmensen
Location manager Marco Lorenzen
Location assistant Gustav Mellgren
Unit manager Lotte Lund Lauritsen


Director of Photography Morten Søborg
Cinematographer Claus Sisseck
First assistant camera Gustav Stork Jangaard
First assistant camera Rasmus Søndergaard Rygaard
Camera assistant Thomas Meyer
Key grip Jens Bo Fraek


Still photographer Vibeke Winding

Electrical dept.

Gaffer Jacob Marlow
Best Boy Thomas Ditzel
Best Boy Kristoffer Bruhn


Music supervisor Nikolaj Hess
Music supervisor Mikkel Hess

Production design

Production designer Søren Gam
Property master Jacob Wirth Carlsen
Set dresser Rasmus Koch
Set decorator Julie Hofmeister
Set dresser Stine Elkjær
Set dresser Jeppe Green
Set decorator Rasmus Balslev-Olesen


Costume designer Emilie Bøge Dresler
Costume on set Yolanda Bluff
Costume on set Lisa Wridt Bøker
Costume assistant Elvira Heurlin


Chief makeup artist Elizabeth Bukkehave
Makeup artist Julie Holst
Makeup artist Anette Baimler Madsen


Sound engineer Morten Bak Jensen
Boom operator Rune Kristiansen

Special effects

SFX supervisor Hummer Højmark

Visual effects

VFX supervisor Peter Hjorth


Stunt coordinator Anders Nylander


Eva Bodil Jørgensen
Karl Jesper Christensen
Aksel Mads Reuther
Appearance Gustav Dyekjær Giese
Appearance Sara Viktoria Bjerregaard Christensen
Appearance Lue Støvelbæk
Appearance Sylvester Espersen Byder
Appearance Steen Schytte

Download PDF
Det Danske Filminstitut registrerer international festivaldeltagelse og priser til danske film, dog primært de titler, som Filminstituttet varetager i sin festivaldistribution, og primært i forbindelse med de festivaler, som Filminstituttet har prioriteret at samarbejde med. Registreringen af festivaldeltagelse og priser til danske film, der ikke er i festivaldistribution, foretages kun for "launch"-festivaler ifølge Filminstituttets prioriterede festivalliste. Se listen over prioriterede festivaler.
Download PDF